Video Review: Ultimo Volume 1

Gia checks out the first volume of the Stan Lee/Hiroyuki Takei manga.

Video posted by gia on Feb. 18, 2010

Playing Next Random Auto
Tom Writes All Your Names In The Death Note

Dig Deeper into Ultimo

A series created by Shaman King creator Hiroyuki Takei and Stan Lee.

Edit/View the Wiki
Hit the Forums (5 Posts)
Add/View Images (11 Images)
Watch Some Videos (1 Video)
giaon Feb. 18, 2010 at 8:13 p.m.
For anyone who prefers, a more detailed text review for Ultimo is also online. :)
AHR staff on Feb. 18, 2010 at 9:37 p.m.
OMG you used the old apple "quack" sound effect!  that is my FAVORITE sound effect of all time.
 
I flipped through this book before, and the fight scenes were awesome.  Stan Lee can definitely be a bit of a cheeseball at this point, but I'm interested to see if writing a book that at least VISUALLY exists in an Eastern style will change the way he approaches a story.
sora_thekey moderator on Feb. 18, 2010 at 10:51 p.m.
@AHR said:
"Stan Lee can definitely be a bit of a cheeseball at this point"

I imagine this because of his old style kind of writing.... 
 
When he did wrote the Amazing Spider-Man #600 story and the Incredible Hulk #500 story I thought of it as something of a "trying to hard to get a funny yet intresting" kind of story.... 
 
then I realized that his 60s and 70s writing was pretty much the same.... so I thought well he's the reason all my favorite characters exist, so no complains here... 
 
I am very, very anxious to read this but I instead of buying this ended up with more comics....! 
 
Oh well maybe next time!
FoxxFireArt moderator on Feb. 18, 2010 at 11:07 p.m.
Is "Evilness" a word? I know "Goodness" is a word, but I don't believe I've ever heard "Evilness" ever used in a  sentence before. Seems like it could be one. Uh, I'll have to look that up.
 
The premise sounds kind of ridiculous. A man creates something that is all good and something that is all evil for the sake of a philosophical argument? So, he basically risks the world and everyone in it for his own curiosity?
 
While the art is from a solid artist. It's a VIZ product. So, passable. This could very likely wind up as another in the long line of Stan Lee attempts such as "Stripperella".
crusader8463on Feb. 19, 2010 at 8:31 a.m.
@gia: Awesome review gia. Looks like you guys actually did listen to the request from the forum post you guys made asking about how we would like future reviews done. At least i think you did, as this is the kind of reviews i talked about. 
 
As for the manga itself, I'm tempted to give it a look at. While the story doesn't really interest me, Shaman King is still one of my all time favorite animes. I just love the way that guy draws his characters.
giaon Feb. 19, 2010 at 1:31 p.m.
@crusader8463: We always listen! Although we were also talking about the best ways to mix video and text too, but hearing requests for that definitely helped us push forward with it :) 
 
@FoxxFireArt: That's exactly what makes his character the most interesting to me @_@
crusader8463on Feb. 19, 2010 at 3:44 p.m.
@gia: I know you guys do. It's just in this day and age it's easy to get cynical about that kind of thing. Everywhere you go you always here "Oh ya we listen to our user base! Totally taking feedback! Just keep coming back and you will see! Promise!" and then nothing ever happens. So it just kind of surprised me to see you guys changing up your usual format so quickly.
JackSukeruon Feb. 20, 2010 at 5:59 a.m.
@FoxxFireArt: You have to be wary of your "evilness", for it helps define your "goodness".
JJOR64on Feb. 22, 2010 at 11:42 a.m.
Seems interesting.  I hope the manga does very well so we can have similar projects in the future.
John_Martoneon Feb. 25, 2010 at 4:21 p.m.
@FoxxFireArt said:
"The premise sounds kind of ridiculous. A man creates something that is all good and something that is all evil for the sake of a philosophical argument? So, he basically risks the world and everyone in it for his own curiosity?
Sounds pretty much right to me.
 
@crusader8463:
Don't worry, we'll start a new project you don't like soon enough. Its just the way of things. ^_^
crusader8463on Feb. 25, 2010 at 4:27 p.m.
@John_Martone: Good to hear! I hate not having anything to bitch about when I'm on here. You guys need to get an editor or something that we can all hate and talk about how he/she sucks and how they are ruining Anime Vice. Everything needs a good villain.
John_Martoneon Feb. 25, 2010 at 5:22 p.m.
@crusader8463 said:
" @John_Martone: Good to hear! I hate not having anything to bitch about when I'm on here. You guys need to get an editor or something that we can all hate and talk about how he/she sucks and how they are ruining Anime Vice. Everything needs a good villain. "
All joking aside, that is a format that many popular websites use. I'm sure its mostly unintentional, but all it takes is to bring on someone who is hated, they stir up trouble/rage traffic, then kick them out = everyone's happier. Rinse, lather, repeat.
Mandatory Network

Submissions can take several hours to be approved.

Save ChangesCancel