Unscripted: Evangelion 1.11 Dual Review

John and Gia bicker over EVAs, just like Ritsuko and Misato. (But which is which?)

Video posted by gia on March 14, 2010

Playing Next Random Auto
Tom Writes All Your Names In The Death Note

Dig Deeper into Evangelion: 1.0 You Are (Not) Alone

Evangelion 1.0 is the first movie in the Rebuild of Evangelion series, it covers the events of episodes 1-6 of the anime, and it includes new animation with changes to the plot.

Edit/View the Wiki
Hit the Forums (7 Posts)
Add/View Images (133 Images)
Watch Some Videos (1 Video)
giaon March 14, 2010 at 8:22 a.m.

Release Info:  

Title:
Evangelion 1.11 You Are (Not) Alone  
Release Date: 3/09/10
Format: Blu-Ray 
MSRP: $34.98 

Length: 98 minutes

 

Review Info: 

Watched on: Playstation 3, 40" Toshiba HDTV 1080p 
Review materials: Courtesy of the publisher
Sigueon March 14, 2010 at 4:43 p.m.
I was never a huge fan of Rei. I don't really understand why she's so popular. I'm not a big fan of the TV series, but I really enjoyed this version. And so pretty...
giaon March 14, 2010 at 5:04 p.m.
@Sigue: I really don't remember being as irked by her in the original TV series. Though I was never particularly impressed with her, either. I don't "like" Asuka, but I think she has a more interesting psychology. Or psychosis, if you prefer.
FoxxFireArt moderator on March 14, 2010 at 6:20 p.m.
If this is for Evangelion 1.11, why is it linked to Evangelion 1.0?
 
09:50 
I thought the reason he wears glasses isn't because he burned his hands. lol That's the gloves.
AHR staff on March 14, 2010 at 6:27 p.m.
@Sigue: i'm with you on the lack of interest in rei.  never got her appeal at all.  though i do love love love Yuki from Haruhi, and the two are pretty damn similar.  i think the difference is yuki's stoicism is frequently played for laughs, and rei's is supposed to be super mysterious and meaningful.  borrring.
isawachuckon March 14, 2010 at 6:59 p.m.

Love the Unscripted videos...good job guys!
Black_Roseon March 14, 2010 at 11:46 p.m.
The lack of Rei love is depressing :( ...
 
I'm gonna go cut myself in my Rei-loving corner now. 
constanzadellarosaon March 15, 2010 at 7:21 a.m.
Rei's personality differs between manga and anime. Asuka's character is mostly developed in the anime, while Rei is developed in the manga; she is more involved in certain stories and certainly closer to Shinji.
 
I agree that in the first movie there is no much to say about her,  but in the second film things change...like a lot. She stops being Nerv's lab rat/ the girl who bangs the boss (I loved that remark) and turns slowly into a human being. (Sorry if I made some spoilers.)
giaon March 15, 2010 at 7:26 a.m.
@constanzadellarosa: The manga has had a lot more time to develop stuff, as it usually does. In this case, Sadahiro's manga started being released before the anime came out, but they were developed concurrently...the difference being that the manga is still running 15 years later! 
 
Which reminds me: did anyone else catch the comment (which I included as a clip in this review) about the script written for these children 14 years ago? I'm a little conflicted on whether I think this refers to the original series' creation as well as the kids' births; when the movie first screened in Japan it was 2007, which was only 12 years after the anime series began airing-- but it can easily take a couple of years to develop an anime, according to my understanding...
Tofu2222on March 15, 2010 at 12:06 p.m.
Was it just me or was the translation in the subtitles pretty meh? Not Shoko Ono's best work AT ALL. One would think Funimation would hire an editor to clean it up, at least. Full of inaccurate technojargon and awkward wordings. :(
John_Martoneon March 16, 2010 at 10:25 a.m.
@Tofu2222 said:
" Was it just me or was the translation in the subtitles pretty meh? Not Shoko Ono's best work AT ALL. One would think Funimation would hire an editor to clean it up, at least. Full of inaccurate technojargon and awkward wordings. :( "
You know, I hadn't really noticed. Early on I used to be a snot about watching the shows in every combination (particularly english dub with english subtitles) but i quickly learned that it was more distracting than helpful, as no release was free of huge, sweeping dialog adjustments.
 
So yeah, one pass on Japanese, one on English, but I guess I was on so much Eva autopilot I might have overlooked it.
Void_Wizardon March 16, 2010 at 11:05 a.m.
I'm do diehard that I own the 1.11 blu-ray disc before I get a ps3 that plays it in April. Good job on the video!
Lydian_Selon March 21, 2010 at 7:36 a.m.
Wow you just put a crazy new spin on the romance between Wall-E & Eva. Consider my mind blown!!
hitsusatsu11on March 21, 2010 at 7:53 p.m.
Its a great anime, I wish 2.0 would hurry up and come out on dvd
John_Martoneon March 22, 2010 at 10:43 a.m.
@hitsusatsu11 said:
" Its a great anime, I wish 2.0 would hurry up and come out on dvd "
Good luck on that one, that still have yet to announce it state side. Hopefully having the whole "gang" together for Eva 1.0 made them want to rush it together, for efficiency 's sake, but still.
 
@Void_Wizard said:
" I'm do diehard that I own the 1.11 blu-ray disc before I get a ps3 that plays it in April. Good job on the video! "
I won't tell you to rebuy blazblue, but I think you should buy Contiuum shift this summer ^_^

 
Void_Wizardon March 22, 2010 at 10:54 a.m.
@John_Martone said:
" @hitsusatsu11 said:
" Its a great anime, I wish 2.0 would hurry up and come out on dvd "
Good luck on that one, that still have yet to announce it state side. Hopefully having the whole "gang" together for Eva 1.0 made them want to rush it together, for efficiency 's sake, but still.
 
@Void_Wizard said:
" I'm do diehard that I own the 1.11 blu-ray disc before I get a ps3 that plays it in April. Good job on the video! "
I won't tell you to rebuy blazblue, but I think you should buy Contiuum shift this summer ^_^  "

I will probably pass I want to have a lot of time to enjoy the first Blazblue... I will wait for the U.S. edition.
macker33on March 24, 2010 at 11:16 a.m.
It might be my imagination but did they try and soften rei?if so i think it was a bad choice.
 
Misato eng dub = A OK
 
Fight scene versus the blue diamond angel was ten times better than the origional but the whole berserker fight was way worse.Definately looks a lot better than the origional.
John_Martoneon March 25, 2010 at 1:45 p.m.
@macker33 said:
" It might be my imagination but did they try and soften rei?if so i think it was a bad choice.  Misato eng dub = A OK  Fight scene versus the blue diamond angel was ten times better than the origional but the whole berserker fight was way worse.Definately looks a lot better than the origional. "
I'll agree with you on the blue diamond, but what was so bad about the berserker fight?
macker33on March 25, 2010 at 2:33 p.m.
@John_Martone: 
I dont know,it just didnt make any impact,when i see the origional berserker fight i climb the wall backwards but this time around it just seems dud,the end part anyway.
Like the american edit of once apon a time in america,the same things are there but the timings wrong.Its not the end of the world but i think it would be bad if things get any more mellow.
 
Cany complain too much anyway because hopefully all that whining will be cut out by the time we get to the end of the third film.
Mandatory Network

Submissions can take several hours to be approved.

Save ChangesCancel