Tom's Inner Ten-Year-Old Resurfaces To Review Dragon Ball Z: Kai

If you can understand Tom's review, CONGRATULATIONS! You probably love Dragon Ball Z.

Video posted by Undeadpool on May 9, 2011

Playing Next Random Auto
Tom Writes All Your Names In The Death Note

Dig Deeper into Dragon Ball Z Kai

Dragon Ball Z Kai is a complete reworking and remastering of the Dragon Ball Z anime series to more closely fit Akira Toriyama's original story. Padding and filler content has been removed, massively reducing the amount of episodes. Kai was made to commemorate Dragon Ball's 20th anniversary.

Edit/View the Wiki
Hit the Forums (16 Posts)
Add/View Images (202 Images)
Watch Some Videos (3 Videos)
Halberdierv2on May 9, 2011 at 1:56 p.m.
hahahaha!! that's hyper! but hey, I was worse than you when DBZ used to show!
I was able to watch a few episodes last year, around the time Goku was getting Kaioken, and it feels a lot better paced that it was in DBZ when I look at it as an adult. of course, as a kid, I just thought more DBZ was better, and I probably wouldn't have appreciated a condensed version like Kai. of course, I still go super sayain in my head when i get pumped! :P
Andheezon May 9, 2011 at 2:10 p.m.
I 'might' give this a try.  I coudn't stand DBZ, mainly because of the almost completely filler nature of the show.  People love it, and I tried, but couldn't.  Maybe this is the answer.
UchihaSasukeon May 9, 2011 at 2:15 p.m.
One sided audio. 
MarioBozaon May 9, 2011 at 2:17 p.m.
Dragon Ball Z was my first anime ever and for that I will always love it even with all its flaws. I started watching Kai the other day and im loving it for all the nostalgia its been giving me. Great transformation Tom you remind me of highly caffeinated Will Smith at SCAA. lol
FoxxFireArt moderator on May 9, 2011 at 2:31 p.m.

Android 18
Android 18
Krillin may be a chump, but I think he got the hottest wife out of the bunch. Though, I was shocked when I saw they named their first daughter Marron. Marron was also the name of Krillin's girlfriend before he married Android 18.  Seriously, what woman would be okay with naming her daughter after her husband's ex?

I actually preferred Dragon Ball over Dragon Ball Z. Dragon Ball Z, while fun to watch, had a story that felt directionless. In Dragon Ball, Goku was trying to win the World's Martial Arts Tournament and had adventures along the way while he tried to reach that goal. Dragon Ball Z era and on just felt like a cycle of endless battles with no real end game.
danielm staff on May 9, 2011 at 2:35 p.m.
Tom, you're a mad man. :)

Crunchmanon May 9, 2011 at 6:30 p.m.
If I pick this up, what are the chances that I'll become insane by the end of it?
No_name_here staff on May 9, 2011 at 6:58 p.m.
@crunchman said:
" If I pick this up, what are the chances that I'll become insane by the end of it? "
OVER 9000!!!!
gla55jAwon May 9, 2011 at 7:03 p.m.
@crunchman said:
" If I pick this up, what are the chances that I'll become insane by the end of it? "
Only if you can power up high enough.
Saskatoonon May 9, 2011 at 7:23 p.m.
This is a great review and I didnt know you were into metal Tom. That is a sweet Winds of Plague shirt.
SSJjanembaon May 9, 2011 at 8:25 p.m.
cool
LiquidSwordson May 9, 2011 at 8:37 p.m.
New Tom Tom video? Must watch!

OG DBZ >  'Merican DBZ
Young_Scotton May 10, 2011 at 5:32 a.m.
Hey guys,

I thought this blog I wrote  discussing the original cuts of Dragonball/Z versus Kai might be relevant to this topic:  In defence of the original cut of Dragonball/Z.

Check out the Japanese cut of Dragonball/Z if you've got the time! Admittedly, it does take a lot of time. ;)

"If you must watch a dubbed version, stick to Kai, which is far more faithful to the intentions of the Japanese script. On Kai in general: While it's a valiant effort to curb the filler present in the original production, it often goes way too far in the other direction, cutting out plot material that was actually present in the manga, and rushing important moments of build-up and tension. The BGM, while a step-up from the old dubs, isn't really a patch on the score of the original shows [the awesome Japanese score by Shunsuke Kikuchi] , although it does have some great "one-shot" songs." 
MagikGimpon May 10, 2011 at 5:37 a.m.
A version of DBZ that's not shit? I might finally want to approach it now. Bet it wasn't made by a Japanese company, they really seem to like their slow, static moments.
Jnason May 10, 2011 at 6:36 a.m.
Hah, this was funny xD. DBZ was also my introduction to anime, and I still have a soft spot for it.. It was just plain dumb fun. 
No_name_here staff on May 10, 2011 at 11:28 a.m.
@Halberdierv2 said:
 as a kid, I just thought more DBZ was better, and I probably wouldn't have appreciated a condensed version like Kai. 
It took them an awfully long time to realize this was necessary. 
No_name_here staff on May 10, 2011 at 11:29 a.m.
@marioboza said:
Great transformation Tom you remind me of highly caffeinated Will Smith at SCAA. lol "
I was wired on 10 cups of Chi.
No_name_here staff on May 10, 2011 at 11:34 a.m.
@saskatoon said:
" This is a great review and I didnt know you were into metal Tom. That is a sweet Winds of Plague shirt. "
Watch me crowd surf at a Fear Factory show...
No_name_here staff on May 10, 2011 at 11:34 a.m.
@danielm said:
" Tom, you're a mad man. :)"
MADNESS!!!
No_name_here staff on May 10, 2011 at 11:38 a.m.
@magikgimp said:
" A version of DBZ that's not shit? I might finally want to approach it now. Bet it wasn't made by a Japanese company, they really seem to like their slow, static moments. "
And they're wonderfully-cheesy J-Pop theme songs...
  
  
Mandatory Network

Submissions can take several hours to be approved.

Save ChangesCancel