Deleting your comments does run the risk of activating a glitch that could delete your thread. If your thread is deleted without an automated PM, then it's a glitch in the system. When mods delete threads, the system automatically PMs the user unless. I know a lot of RPG folks call me over when their thread disappears.
For the post limit, don't worry, I let Dream know. Plus, your thread is well liked, so users will support it to reopen it.