Ghost in the Shell

Ghost in the Shell is a franchise comprised of 6 movies, 3 anime series, 6 manga series
Edit this Page
The content below is entirely editable.

A sci-fi police thriller set in the future, the original Ghost in the Shell movie was one of the early anime to achieve critical prominence in the US and influenced all facets of entertainment, including the Wachowski brothers' film The Matrix.

The original Ghost in the Shell manga was created by Shirow Masamune in 1989 and featured Major Motoko Kusanagi, the cyborg squad leader of the Public Security Section 9 in a futuristic Japan. In 1995 it was adapted into an anime film by Production I.G with Mamoru Oshii acting as director. A sequel manga was developed in 1997, followed by the TV anime Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex in 2002. Next came the second movie, Ghost in the Shell: Innocence, in 2004, as well as the TV anime sequel Ghost in the Shell 2nd Gig. A third film was created to wrap up 2nd Gig, called Ghost in the Shell Stand Alone Complex: Solid State Society. The movie and anime canons are often considered to be separate-- the first two movies are based in Hong Kong while the TV anime are based in Japan --but the third film, Solid State Society, wraps up the second season of the TV anime. A number of novels based on the series have been developed, along with several video games.
Top Editors
Mandatory Network

Submissions can take several hours to be approved.

Save ChangesCancel