VIZ's SHONEN JUMP & NARUTO Editor Joel Enos -- Interview

Topic started by No_name_here on Nov. 3, 2011. Last post by coonce 2 years, 8 months ago.
Post by No_name_here (854 posts) See mini bio Level 11
Staff

Somewhere throughout my various adventures on the American convention, I had the great fortunate to meet Joel Enos of VIZ. It's taken a few months, but the stars and the planets have at last aligned, and our schedules have finally synced up enough for us to finally sit down for a proper interview. Read on for a discussion that covers translations, the non-mainstream and the future of digital.

ANIME VICE: I've found the interviewee's really better suited to give his own intro than the interviewer actually is. So, with that in mind... just who are you?

JOEL ENOS: I'm an Editor for VIZ Manga working mainly on Shonen Jump series (Naruto and Psyren) and some new projects for VIZ Kids (Pokemon). For two years from 2009 to 2011 I was the Senior Editor for Shonen Jump magazine, which, as you know, is going through some real transitions right now as we announced in New York. My role in that project is on the manga side as I'll be doing the near simultaneous editing (with Japan) of Nura and Naruto for next year's new digital schedule.

AV: Many of our Anime Vice’s users are curious about the nitty, gritty, shop talk details of manga. As an editor, what are your usual job duties?