Top 5 Greatest 2D Fighting Games!

Topic started by AlexEL on Jan. 25, 2013. Last post by unkle_matt85 1 year, 3 months ago.
Post by AlexEL (52 posts) See mini bio Level 8
Staff

WELCOME TO THE TOP FIVE! This week, I’ll take a break from my usual griping and complaining to geek out about something I’m always in a good mood about - - the good old days of 2D fighters!

Anime, video games, manga, art books, etc., all fall under the blanket of "otaku," as far I'm concerned. Japanese video games, especially in the 2D era, were working with most of the same tropes and visual themes as anime. Plenty of talented artists working in anime and manga got involved in the video game business, and when the fighting game boom of the early 90's happened, we were suddenly flooded with a bevy of beautifully-illustrated and inventive games that should appeal to any fan of the nerdy Japanese arts. As an artist, I certainly took notice.

And let's be honest, fighting games are really just interactive shonen anyway!

Even the box art for these games is awesome. Plus, check out that knockoff M.Bison on the bottom right.
Even the box art for these games is awesome. Plus, check out that knockoff M.Bison on the bottom right.

I got hooked early on and never looked back. Suffice it to say, I’ve played a lot of fighting games. From the classics to the not-so-classics to the utterly absurd, I’ve seen’em all. So I’ve decided to lend my expertise to all of you and help separate the wheat from chaff.

So, lets get down to it!

HONORABLE MENTION = = KING OF FIGHTERS ‘98

Forever punching dudes on fire.
Forever punching dudes on fire.

KOF was like a sports title for a while, with a new release every year. Well, 1998 is when everything changed. New combo system, nicely updated graphics, and a daunting roster of characters made KOF ’98 the best of the series.