Why do Asian girls love Doraemon so much?

Topic started by ronki23 on Sept. 28, 2013. Last post by UltimateHero0406 9 months, 3 weeks ago.
Post by ronki23 (85 posts) See mini bio Level 8

I know a Filipino girl who likes Pikachu a lot and she's 23; she's an artist though.

I also know lots of girls like Hello Kitty, not just Asians. Hello Kitty is an international brand though.

I'm a 23 year old grad student in England and over 60% of my classmates are Chinese and the girls LOVE Doraemon. They don't even read manga/ very few watch anime but they love Doraemon/have plushies,etc. We don't even get Doraemon in the UK so I had to google 'Blue cat anime' or 'Japanese blue cat manga'

They don't even watch Dragonball/Naruto/One Piece and some have no clue about Tenchi Muyo (I have seen all of the Tenchi series revolving around Tenchi but only liked Universe and the Kagato saga of Muyo).

So why is Doraemon, a JAPANESE cartoon, so popular in China (last I checked most Chinese though they don't hate Japanese, they don't like them either)??

Post by bigz007 (1,088 posts) See mini bio Level 20

@ronki23:

Girls! Don't try to understand them. So I've been told...

Post by Acura_Max (2,323 posts) See mini bio Level 13

Doraemon looks cute. /Thread.

@Acura_Max:So does Ryo Ohki and so do some Pokemon (though I stated one girl likes it)

Maybe it's because Pokemon is seen quite geeky today (in Western culture anyway). But no Ryo Ohki fans?

EDIT: I have quite a lot of Chinese friends who have a thing for cats. They treat them as members of the family and have an unnatural amount of photos of their pet cats on facebook. That and all Chinese and Japanese restaurants I visit have those waving cats.

But let's not evolve this into a cat thread until we find out why Doraemon's such a CHICK MAGNET!!

Post by takashichea (11,068 posts) See mini bio Level 25
Online Now