[iOS] Whiskey Media Video Buddy

Topic started by Soup_Menu on Jan. 7, 2012. Last post by Soup_Menu 2 years, 7 months ago.
Post by Soup_Menu (2 posts) See mini bio Level 4

I'm pleased to announce that Whiskey Media Video Buddy is now available for iOS. Previously an Android exclusive, this free app aims to make watching videos from any of the five Whiskey Media sites on your iPhone, iPod Touch, or iPad as convenient as possible. How? I'm glad you asked:

Everyone is able to:

• Stream all non-member-exclusive videos from each site
  • Save your place in a video and resume from that spot later
  • Send video to AirPlay-capable devices like an Apple TV

Additionally, paid Whiskey Media members can:

• Access the subscriber-only videos
  • Access HD streams for every video available
  • Download videos to watch later

There are also two limitations I should mention:

You must be running iOS 5.0 or better. This is my first time working with iOS and only targeting the most recent version of the operating system simplified things immensely.

Videos can only be streamed over WiFi. App Store policy effectively requires that Whiskey Media Video Buddy use HTTP Live Streaming when using the cellular network for data and, to the best of my knowledge, Whiskey Media does not currently support HLS. For those interested in details, see section 9.4 of the App Store Review Guidelines and the "Requirements for Apps" section in the "Using HTTP Live Streaming" portion of the HTTP Live Streaming Overview

If you own an iOS device and are a fan of Whiskey Media's video content then I encourage you to head on over to the App Store to check it out. If you have any questions or comments please don't hesitate to drop me a line.

Post by Soup_Menu (2 posts) See mini bio Level 4

Version 1.1 is now available!