The content below is entirely editable.

Allen Walker is boy with the ability to see and exorcise beings known as Akuma with his left hand. He becomes a Exorcist of the Black Order so he can stop the Millennium Earl and The Noah Family.


D. Gray Man is the story of Allen Walker, a boy with the blessing, or curse, of the ability to see and exorcise beings known as Akuma, and his quest to purify their souls and be at peace.

 A born exorcist, Walker's primary anti-akuma weapon is the cross that's embossed on his red, disfigured left hand, which contains Innocence. But not only does Walker destroy akuma, he sees the akuma hiding inside a person's soul! Together with his fellow exorcists fighting under the command of the Black Order, Walker leads the battle against the Millennium Earl, the evil being out to destroy mankind. 
- Viz Media Summary

D. Gray Man was written and illustrated by the mangaka Katsura Hoshino, and first began serialization in Shueisha's Weekly Shonen Jump, in 2004.


  • Shueisha (Japan)
  • Viz Media (North America)
  • Madman Entertainment (North America)
  • Glenat (France, Spain)
  • Planet Manga (Italy, Portugal)
  • Tokyopop (Germany)
  • Tong Li Publishing Co., Ltd. (China, Taiwan)


Publishing History

D. Gray Man was first serialized in Shueisha's Shonen Jump on May 31, 2004. However, the series went on hiatus four times: the first two were because the mangaka, Hoshino, had become ill. The third hiatus was due to the author injuring her wrist, which caused the series to halt from November 2008 to March 9, 2009. The series was then put on hiatus a fourth time, on May 11, being broken only by the release of a special chapter in Akamaru Jump on August 17. After this fourth hiatus, D. Gray Man resumed publication on November 4, 2009, this time changing magazines to the monthly magazine Jump Square. Currently, there have been 204 chapters released.
Shueisha began publishing the chapters in tankobon volumes on October 4, 2004. Currently, Shueisha has released 21 volumes of the series, with the most recent being released on December 3, 2010.
Viz Media
began publishing the series in English on February 5, 2008. Currently, they have released 20 volumes of the series, with the most recent being released on February 5, 2011.


Allen Walker
The protagonist of the series. His left arm is red and deformed, with a cross embedded into it. The Innocence contained within his arm allows him to transform it into an Anti-Akuma weapon. His cursed left eye also allows him to see Akuma. Allen is a sweet, kind-hearted, although not particularly bright, boy. When his parents abandoned him, he was adopted by Mana Walker. Later, Allen came under the tutelage of the exorcist Cross Marian for five years, and became part of the Black Order. He utilizes the parasite-type Anti-Akuma weapon Crowned Clown  (クラウン・クラウン , Kuraun Kuraun).
Yu Kanda
An eighteen-year old exorcist from Japan. Kanda is cold and aloof towards most, except with Allen; he reserves his most scathing, cold insults for him. Working under General Tiedoll, Kanda hates the fatherly manner the General extends towards him. Kanda makes use of the weapon-type Innocence Mugen (六幻 , Six Illusions).
General Information Edit
English Name D.Gray-man
Japanese Name: ディーグレイマン
Romaji: Dī Gureiman
Publisher Viz Media
Start Year 2004
Add a new genre
Add a new theme
Aliases D Gray Man
Top Rated Lists
Major Contributions Page a list of 39 items by PiFace314
A Checklist of Past Community Spotlights 2011 a list of 292 items by takashichea
Quick Picks Manga with BigHeart711 a list of 404 items by takashichea
Franchise Edit
Similar Edit
We don't have any info about D.Gray-man's related volumes. Help us fill it in!
Top Editors
Mandatory Network

Submissions can take several hours to be approved.

Save ChangesCancel